Pre-order NU TRIO HERE on CD or Download.

B Side Recordings unveils a new recording: NU TRIO by multi-instrumentalist Jamie Breiwick. This provocative new trio brings together the voices of Breiwick on trumpet and piano, Chicago drummer/percussionist Tim Daisy and the bassist Tim Ipsen. This new release takes listeners on a journey through the avant-garde, free jazz, and post-bop realms, exploring a collection of new original compositions and a handful of spontaneous improvisations. These seven pieces draw inspiration from the groundbreaking work of iconic and forward thinking artists such as Don Cherry, Ornette Coleman, Pharoah Sanders, and Andrew Hill — continuing Breiwick’s exploration of the lineage of Don Cherry on his two previous releases for Shifting Paradigm Records — Awake, the Music of Don Cherry, Vols. 1 & 2. Nu Trio’s direction is a homage to the spirit of innovation and exploration that these master musicians embodied, and that Breiwick, Daisy and Ipsen exemplify.

The single, Try To Remember, featuring Breiwick on piano, has already garnered international airplay on Radio D59B (Belgrade/Berlin) and on the UK’s Blue in Green Radio (London) ahead of the full album’s late-May release.

​​The new album will be available on all major streaming platforms and for purchase on CD or download starting May 31, 2024. Milwaukee-area public can look forward to an immersive listening experience to celebrate the release on 5/31/24. Jamie Breiwick, Tim Daisy, and Tim Ipsen will be performing a special set at Rev Pop (2559 S Howell Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53207), bringing their inspired live interpretations of the album’s tracks to a limited audience as a part of the Bay View Jazz Fest on 5/31/24 at 5:30pm.


1. Expand Minutiae 2:42 (Ipsen)
2. Try To Remember 5:38 (Breiwick)
3. False Spring 3:00 (Breiwick/Daisy/Ipsen)
4. Fear of Losing the Scribe 3:00 (Ipsen)
5. Lucky Stars In Your Eyes 6:00 (Breiwick)
6. Høibying 3:52 (Ipsen)
7. For JB (Jaimie Branch) 4:10 (Breiwick/Daisy/Ipsen)

Jamie Breiwick, trumpet, flugelhorn, piano (2 & 5)
Tim Ipsen, bass
Tim Daisy, drums, percussion
Engineered, Mixed and Mastered by Aaron Christianson
Recorded June 9, 2023 at Clown Horn Studios
Design by Jamie Breiwick, B Side Graphics